Board and Consultants

Board of Directors

Keith Gier
President - Term ends: May 2024

Keith Gier is currently serving as President of Fort Bend County Municipal Utility District 151, having been a Director on the Board since 2012. Keith moved to Firethorne in 2010, along with his wife and three children.

Keith’s professional background is in Metallurgical Engineering, and he has worked in the oil and gas industry for over 30 years.

Sean R. Fitzsimmons
Vice President - Term ends: May 2022

Sean Fitzsimmons currently serves as the Vice President of Fort Bend County Municipal Utility District 151, having been a member of the board in other capacities since 2017. Sean has been a resident of the district since January 2013.

Sean looked to join the board as a way of giving back to the Firethorne community that he loves being a part of, and to further his learning around the civil engineering disciplines that he had limited prior exposure to. Sean’s background is in technology, where he is currently a Principal Cloud Solution Architect at Microsoft; Sean is focused on helping customers embrace infrastructure & application innovation, data science and artificial intelligence.

Sean resides in the district with his wife who also works in information technology and his teenage son who goes to Katy High School. In Sean’s free time you can catch him on the ski slopes of Breckenridge, Colorado or spreading the love of food/wine/whiskey through the various Facebook groups that he helps lead.

Louis James
Secretary - Term ends: May 2022

Both as a Director for Fort Bend County MUD 151 and a Firethorne H.O.A. Resident Board member, it is Louis’ desire to serve the Community of Firethorne to make it the best place to live in the Katy Area.

Louis is the founder/owner of a boutique IT System Strategist firm serving businesses in Louisiana, Texas, and internationally. With 35 years of experience, Louis focuses on small businesses helping them in their IT system needs. Areas of knowledge include both “Micro’s” and “Mini’s” for use in Financial back-office work as well as HR and Payroll processes. Originally from Louisiana, Louis previously pastored a small congregation in St. Bernard Parish as a bi-vocational pastor. Louis is fully bilingual in both Spanish and English.

Louis & Ruth, residents of Firethorne since 2006, have been married for nearly 44 years. Both Ruth and Louis have three children and four wonderful grandchildren. Since 2006, Louis has served Firethorne as Community Watch Chair, and sat on the Amenities Committee and Architectural Review Committee. Currently, Louis serves as one of the resident board members for the Firethorne Homeowners Association.

Nathan Shipley
Assistant Secretary - Term ends: May 2024

Nathan Shipley has been a member of the FBCMUD 151 Board of Directors since August of 2018. Born and raised in Katy, he sought out a position on the board to give back to the community and to help guide current and future projects that will benefit the district and its residents.

Nathan works as a marketing consultant in the Automotive Industry for The NPD Group. Along with his wife and three elementary-aged kids, he has been a Firethorne resident since 2015. In his free time, you can catch him coaching/cheering on kid’s sports, tinkering on a project car in the garage, or spending time at the lake.

Cory McFarland
Assistant Vice President - Term ends: May 2024

Cory McFarland was appointed to the FBCMUD 151 Board of Directors in October 2020 and has been a resident of Firethorne since May 2010.

Cory’s professional experience is in finance/accounting, and he is currently the Corporate Controller/Finance Director at Arion Blue LLC (Arion), a multi-discipline contractor providing services to the Energy industry, where his role is to support the rapid growth and expansion of the young, startup business. Prior to joining Arion, Cory gained diverse experiences across several industries in multi-national, publicly listed, Fortune 100 scale companies. During his career, he has developed particular interest and expertise in leading continuous improvement initiatives.

Cory and his wife Nanci are both graduates of Katy High School and Texas A&M University; they have 3 young boys enrolled in Katy ISD schools, and Nanci is an educator in the district. As active residents in their hometown, they viewed the Board position as an incredible opportunity for Cory to further strengthen their commitment to service in the community they are so proud to be from and live in. In his free time, Cory enjoys spending time outdoors, whether hunting, making routine visits to the Texas Hill Country or spending time with family and friends.

Conflicts Disclosure Statements:

No conflicts to report for the current Board of Directors.

Consultants and Vendors


Allen Boone Humphries Robinson LLP
3200 S. W. Fwy., Ste. 2600
Houston, Texas 77027


2800 Post Oak Blvd., Ste. 3200
Houston, Texas 77056-6118


McLennan & Associates, LP
3100 S. Gessner, Ste. 310
Houston, Texas 77079

Communications/Public Outreach

Touchstone District Services
1251 Pin Oak Rd., Ste. 131 No. 160
Katy, TX 77494

Delinquent Tax Attorney

Perdue, Brandon, Fielder, Collins & Mott, L.L.P.
1235 N. Loop W., Ste. 600
Houston, TX 77008


Jones & Carter, Inc.
6330 W. Loop S., Ste. 150
Bellaire, Texas 77401

Financial Advisor

Masterson Advisors LLC
4400 Post Oak Pkwy., Ste. 2370
Houston, TX 77027

Garbage Collector

Best Trash
17820 Madden Rd.
Richmond, TX 77407


Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.
1900 W. Loop S., Ste. 1600
Houston, TX 77027

Landscape Architect

KGA/DeForest Design, LLC
24275 Katy Freeway, Suite 300
Katy, Texas 77494


2002 W. Grand Pkwy. N., Ste. 100
Katy, TX 77449

Tax Assessor/Collector

Tax Tech, Inc.
873 Dulles Ave., Ste. A
Stafford, TX 77477